Master of the Month: Amira Lamb

amira-f18Amira Lamb is the CEO and Founder of Holistic Hottie Inc.  With over 16 years experience as a certified group exercise instructor, personal trainer, and Nutrition and Holistic Lifestyle Coach, Amira has worked for Town Sports International, The Sports Club LA/Reebok, and Crunch Gym. She is also a Functional Diagnostic  Nutritionist, candidate and has held certifications from National Academy of Sports Medicine, American Fitness Association of America, and the C.H.E.K. Institute.

Amira definitely practices what she preaches and is a professional level bikini competitor with the International Federation of Bodybuilding & Fitness (IFBB) and Regional Coach for Bombshell Fitness, coaching other Bikini Competitors with the National Physique Committee. Read on for an exclusive interview with the Hottie herself.

1. How did you get started in the fitness industry? 

“I pretty much idolized the women from the TV show “The 20 minute workout” and Tami Lee Webb from the Buns of Steel videos growing up. I knew I wanted a career in fitness since childhood so as soon as I turned 18 I got CPR certified and took a weekend course on how to become a group exercise instructor. Soon after I landed my first gig leading hi-lo and step aerobics classes right before my Freshman year at UMASS (Amherst).”

2. What do you find most enjoyable about Bikini contests?

“The most enjoyable thing is the process. It’s empowering to watch the physical changes that occur from primarily changing diet. There’s a heightened discipline that comes with prep (which for me means taking a break from Trader Joe’s almond butter since I ignore the serving size recommendation) and I always feel my absolute best during that time.”

10492408_10204301658960454_6166396410422577781_n3. What types of foods do you eat to support your exercise regimen? How does your diet differ from off-season?

“I eat several small meals a day. Each meal has a protein, carb (starchy and/or fibrous), and fat. I tend not to eat carbohydrate on it’s own because then I’m likely to binge on that food due to not feeling satisfied or fully nourished. My proteins vary between mostly chicken, turkey, 100% grassfed & lean cuts of steak, uncured ham, fish, and shellfish. My carbs vary between different types of yam, varieties of rice, quinoa, gluten-free pasta, fruits, and a lot of vegetables. The fats I consume are generally from extra-virgin olive oil, avocado oil, and coconut oil.

When I preparing for stage I follow a carb-cycling plan. It’s very effective for what I need to achieve for stage. I never eat low-carb for more than a couple of days at a time.”

4. What is your current training strategy? Has it changed from your last competition?

“Since I’ve started competing most of my training, quite honestly, has just been the classes that I teach. That said, a lot of my conditioning involves super sets, giant sets, and metabolic work. I hope to lift more on my own before I compete again next year. I’d add like to add a bit more shape to my glutes!”

5. What types of supplements have helped you reach your fitness goals?

“Some of my favorite supplements include digestive enzymes, magnesium, Vitamin C, D, E, and Turmeric.”

6. Have you ever cheated in your diet? If so, what’s your favorite cheat treat? 

“If I eat something “off-plan” I actually don’t consider it cheating. It just means that I ate off-plan. My favorite off-plan foods are Andean Dream quinoa cookies and Van Leeuwen’s vegan salted caramel ice cream (BEST ICE CREAM EVER!).”

7. What’s your favorite exercise to do and why? 

“Sumo Squat Jumps – they work the entire lower body, can be done anywhere, and get the heart rate up (aka: make you burn more calories).”

Follow Amira Lamb on her Facebook page!
Leave a Reply

